Exterro: The new data privacy risks of the EU ruling invalidating the US Privacy Shield

It has been several weeks since the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) ruling invalidated the EU-US Privacy Shield scheme and called into question the safeguards provided through the Standard Contractual Clauses (SCC). Organisations need to continue to transfer data outside of the European Economic Area, but face the dilemma of how to do so in a defensible manner without facing regulatory sanctions.

Join Rebecca Perry CIPP/US/G (Director of Strategic Partnerships at Exterro), Robert Grosvenor (Managing Director at Alvarez and Marsal) and Jonathon Little (Partner and Privacy & Technology Specialist at Jones Day) to learn about the consequences of this ruling and what steps your organisation can take to construct a defensible position when transferring personal data outside of the EEA, including:

  • How to comply with the GDPR when transferring personal data outside the EEA using alternative mechanisms
  • How to interpret the impact of the CJEU ruling on the use of SCCs
  • Practical measures organisations can take to reduce their exposure and manage risks whilst maintaining established cross-border data flows

Event Timings: CDT: 8am - 9am | EDT: 9am-10am BST: 2pm - 3pm | CET: 3pm - 4pm | GST: 5pm-6pm

Format: 50 minute presentation, 10 minute live audience Q&A

Add your comment

Event Details

Date:22 September 2020
Time:2:00pm - 3:00pm
Location:Online
Price:Free
Share: